Stranger in a Familiar Land

I very much enjoyed writing this piece for Life of a Muslim Feminist. I hope you’ll enjoy reading it, too.

life of a muslim feminist

Aaminah Khan

Aaminah Khan (jaythenerdkid) is a writer, activist and refugee support worker living in North Queensland. She writes about intersectional feminism and her experiences as a queer Muslim on Twitter and at her blog. Her other interests include popular culture, football, fashion and video games. Her mother will probably never stop embarrassing her by bragging about her in front of all of her friends.

My mother is a devout Muslim, and I believe she embodies many of the noblest qualities of a mumin – she is kind, loving, compassionate, forgiving, gracious, and loves Allah with all her heart. She supports me and the rest of her children in all of our endeavours, and although she’s never been particularly thrilled about my bisexuality, she’s never loved me any less because of it. She covers her hair with a hijab and wears only long-sleeved shirts and refuses to make plans…

View original post 840 more words

2 thoughts on “Stranger in a Familiar Land

  1. I almost shed a tear when reading this.. Born and raised as muslim because of my dad, I want to learn more about Islam as I grow up. But, the more I try to learn from other female muslims in Indonesia (where I live), the more I feel disconnected with the community because I do things that they don’t (I don’t cover myself with hijab, I go out, etc etc), although I feel strongly connected to Allah. Sometimes I wonder, does that make me less muslim for not being like them? After reading this post, I can finally answer that question. I’m no less a muslim even though I’m not like them, because my faith is between myself and Allah only.
    Thanks for sharing your story! Allah bless you 🙂

  2. I just discovered your blog, but I’m enjoying it so much! It’s full of important ideas, ones that I’ve never had the chance to discuss with a Muslim woman before, feminist or not (rural Maine, where I was brought up, is not very diverse). Your post on your post-childhood approach to religion reminds me a little of my struggle with Christianity, which brought me so much value as a child but which sometimes appears too darn convenient for those running it. It’s a pleasure to read your perspective on women, Islam, and queer life, an intersection I’ve seldom read/heard about, so well expressed and so thought-provoking. Thank you for the glimpse of your life!

talk to me

